My Dearest Man

My Dearest Man,

Today is the last day you will be my only child. Tomorrow you will be a big brother. I want you to know that I will always cherish the special time we had alone together as mother and son.  You will not remember this time, but I’ll never forget it.  You have taught me so much about being a mom and I thank you for that. Maybe one day Lady will thank you too…but don’t hold your breath.

You have taught me patience.  I am the MOST impatient person I know, but somehow, with you, I can be extremely patient without even trying.  You ransack the house on a daily basis, you spill black coffee on cream-colored carpeting, you empty all of our drawers, and you flush the toilet on me before I have finished.  You never sit still; you make me carry you up and down four flights of steps while nine months pregnant (despite being fully capable of managing them yourself), and you defeat every baby proofing gadget ever invented.  You are a whirlwind… and I absolutely adore you for it.  I am in constant amazement of your antics and I wouldn’t have it any other way; they are what make you, you.

You have taught me flexibility.  I had this whole plan mapped out when you were born: I was going to breast feed for a year…you wanted no part of it.  No matter how hard I tried and how much I cried it just wasn’t going to work.  I had to accept that you would be bottle and formula fed.  And guess what—it turned out just fine!!  I tried my hardest to make you into one of those toddlers with a sophisticated palate—you know, those kids who actually request to eat sushi and Indian food… and again you were completely against it. It’s chicken fingers and mac and cheese for my little guy.  I don’t like it, but I accept it.  Maybe one day you will grow out of it, and maybe you won’t.  No matter what, it will be okay with me, because there is not much I can do to change it.  Being flexible is a key part of being a successful—and just as importantly, sane—parent and you have driven that point home nicely.

You have taught me about love.  Now don’t get me wrong, I am madly in love with your father; he is the peanut butter to my jelly and without him I wouldn’t have you!  But the love of your spouse pales in comparison to the love of your child.  People always told me this, but I never understood it until the day you were born.  I know it’s a cliché, but I would throw myself in harm’s way to keep you safe and happy.

You taught me selflessness.  Everyone has a streak of selfishness in them.  When I was single, it was all about me.  When I met your dad, sometimes it was about me, and sometimes it was about him.  But when I had you, you became the #1 priority, ALWAYS.  My job as your mom, especially as a stay at home mom, is to constantly put your needs before mine, and I do it with pleasure.  Yes, there are days when your dad walks through the door and I practically throw you at him and run away just to have five minutes of sanity and alone time, but all in all, being your mom is the most amazing job I’ve ever had.

Now you will be a big brother.  I’m sorry that my time will have to be divided between the two of you and that it can no longer be all about you.  But at the same time I am excited to be giving you a sibling.  You will be very close in age so, God willing, you will be partners in crime and adore each other.  There will certainly be times when you fight, like when you break her toys, or when she hates you for trying to date her best friend in High School.  There will be times when she tells you that you are wonderful, like when you let her have the last cookie or sit next to her, instead of your friends, on the bus on her first day of school.  You will be naughty and cover for each other (and just so you know, Dad and I are on to you guys and it’s nothing we haven’t done before!!!!), fight over the car, help her with her homework, ride bikes together, and argue over what television show to watch (if you ever decide you like TV).  We will make wonderful memories together as a family and share some difficult moments.  But never forget you will always be my first born, my hurricane, my Man.

I love you and thank you,

Mommy

Mommy and Man

3 thoughts on “My Dearest Man

  1. That was the sweetest blog I’ve ever read, i’m in tears!! good luck tomorrow and can’t wait to hear the news about little lady!

Leave a Reply

